Sound Quality Vs. Measurements

Status
Not open for further replies.
Back EMF

Hello All,
I run a Hk CIT II with early kT-90's.
I have run a few different preamps & sources; I have a HeathKit SP2 & have used other cit solid state preamps; the obviously 2nd harmonic rich Sp2 always won the listening time. Being an optical physicist I wanted the "clean" preamp to win but it simply didn't in front of the CITII. I still am looking to clean up the sound without losing whatever brings that dynamic alive, I hear it on the trailing edge of male vocals, close mike snare & in the"air" around tenor sax and trumpet lines.
But I digress, my main point was I just recently pulled some early Johnzer sealed 12 inch threee way's for some rectlinear III's which I am modding ( blown mid on one) with a modified focal7k011DB/tc90 pair. (previously used in a homemade 3 order x-over sub system)
The difference in performance from the CIT II under the vented woofer load was stunning. Now I really have to fix the preamp as it is coloring strongly past "raised voice talking level " 80-90dB.

I have heard quite few systems since my Uncle's AR3a/Marantz receiver set of the 1960's, I am always surprised none of them 30 dollars ->15000 ( within the limits of recording media) can reproduce the sound of live acoustic; Play a sax or bang an upright piano and surely any of you can hear delta.
What that delta is still not clear to me, but first order crossovers compared to third order crossovers seem to have a similar difference with first order more lifelike.