Sound Quality Vs. Measurements

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

It was meant as a joke, same as to TL, his response was as such , yours ..... :rolleyes: I guess i must have hit a nerve

Not so much a nerve. But I have a LOT of Solid State background and I do NOT need you to tell me "hasn't had time to appreciate Solid State".

In that you are combining claims that I only like/use tubes because I do not know solid state gear (and hidden that I would change my preference as soon as I did). That's a bit beyond the pale and neither ironic nor funny.

Had you said: "TL is the tooob before transistors guy, after trying more sh.. than he cares to remember" I would not mind at all...

Ciao T

What about Johnson?

Attachments

• sound.jpg
    sound.jpg
    253.7 KB · Views: 122
What you guys would say about such measurement approach:
1) suppose one can use low-noise 24bit-192kHz analog to digital transducer (or better)
2) one can use top quality vinyl recordings of symphonic orchestra, and corresponding RIAA preamp
3) one digitizes with maximum precision 1 sec part of orchestra sound signal from RIAA
4) one uses special soft to characterize in "proper" manner this digital replica, for instance (to be specified in more detail later on), to interpolate the curve and calculate the number of zero values of the second derivative (the numer of inflection points, presumingly it is related with amount of information in musical signal)
5) similar thing is done with output signal from an amp
6) compare the "norm" value at input and output

Hi,

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I still did not get your point.

I believe Wahab is inferring that you suffer from Ap2 envy.