Where to start?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey Guys,

I'm pretty new to electronics and this forum (though I think I've written this same intro in this forum like 10 times by now) but am really interested in electronics especially in regards to audio. I've started picking up a couple books on it and working my way through some stuff online but was wondering what people thought was the best place to start. How did most of you who didn't go to school for electrical engineering get started in the audiophile world? What's the best place to start? Any projects you would suggest? Sites? Books? Videos? At this point, anything'll help.

Thanks!

Jonathan

Where are you starting from? Complete ignorance of all things technical and scientific, or a PhD in something other than physics/EE? I guess somewhere between those two extremes. How is your maths, how far along the arithmetic-algebra-calculus scale have you got?

Horowitz and Hill is a good electronics textbook; very practical and not much maths. To understand audio you first have to understand electronics. The alternative is to scrape by using luck, false assertions, fashion following and guru quoting.

I did pick up the Horowitz and Hill book but have been working through a pretty goofy self-teaching guide that starts with Ohms law and goes on from there. That's been helpful and I plan to switch over to the Horowtiz and Hill book to see what I can glean from that.

But, in terms of current knowledge, that's about it besides some basic algebra and arithmetic and some basic physics. As I work through the Horowitz and Hill book, I was just wondering if there were basic electronics projects I could do while I read the book so I can solidy to the concepts I learn in it.