My pet peeve: OPAMPs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I think it's best not to get bent out of shape about this kind of thing, I'm a British-English-speaking programmer (amongst other things). I have to deal with color and colour and capitalise and capitalize. There are a lot of people for whom English is not a first language who come on here, and sometimes a post that is pretty incoherent at first sight can contain a gem of intelligence. If you freak out about OPAMP you may miss a lot.

w

I have to deal with color and colour and capitalise and capitalize.

Oh lord... my favourite (apart from favorite) is check rather than cheque. I think Noah Webster was actually a Royalist agent bent on making the Americans look silly to the rest of the English speaking world for all time.

My cats think that op-amps are bugs and will carry them off quickly.
"Undiscoverable location" is my pet peeve with op-amps. :)

I think you'll find they have Class D poop...

Hey, I'm not freaked out - I guess my brand of humour is a little dry for you folks. I was actually hoping to get an answer, like "Oh, I picked it up that way over on Head-fi, didn't realise it was wrong" or "huh, I'd always wondered what it stood for, should've realised".

I always find myself reading it as emphasis, like "Can anybody recommend me the best OPAMPS, not discrete solutions like one of you is sure to do by post #4?"

As for programming, the spelling differences do drive me bonkers some days - one of these days I'll find an IDE which will let me spell colour correctly, then silently "fix" it at compile time.

. . . I think you'll find they have Class D poop...

Fortunately, Class-D isn't allowed in the house.