John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier part II

Status
Not open for further replies.
Disabled Account
Joined 2012
CD's for verifying performance of players usually have full scale test tones on them, only recently have I seen players that don't play them without clipping, but I also see lots of spurious tones and THD that should not be there. Maybe I'll take some pictures, it's possible the rest of the circuit is at fault.

I know it's only a $100 product but the DAC in question is an Ambery that uses TI/BB parts. It was optically connected to a Toshiba DVD player playing the Denon Super Audio Check CD.

I have no background in testing ADC/DAC until recently - so I dont know all the in's-n-out's of them... I start with simple basic tests and get deeper and deeper into it as I see something to explore and understand....
with that prelude-- So far the thd vs. input level on low cost ADC is pretty bad; the undistorted dynamic range is more limited than i thought it would be; You cannot get anywhere near the 0dB level (1v) and the artifacts/spurious tones/noise limits you on the low end of levels. Not what I expected to find. To add insult to injury, the individual harmonics produced by level changes in complex ways.

So far a lot of it is from poor pcb layout design, grounding, jitter, and over-all build issues.... many which can be over-come with care in build. But the ADC itself isnt that great. I would hate to think this is IT ! This is the best we are going to get with digital consumer products.

Thx-RNMarsh

Last edited:
Everyone, Parasound customers are not expected to add capacitance to 'optimize' their phono cartridges. Most do not have the test equipment to do so, in fact.
The recommended input capacitance for a Shure V15 is 250pf.
Most cartridges, including Grado, could care less, within reason, what the input cap load is. 1 meter of Radio Shack shielded cable is: 100pf. So, the loading is close to optimum and even under the recommended capacitance.

Joined 2004