John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier part II

Status
Not open for further replies.
diyAudio Member RIP
Joined 2005
Or even the wine business, where I saw dozens of examples of outright fraud in the decade or so I spent doing that.

I was talking wine with a well-heeled collector, a surgeon by profession, and mentioning where I'd bought wine over the years (while ogling his temp-controlled storage of DRC burgundies and wishing that he decide to pop one open!). I mentioned having done some early business with a certain store in Beverly Hills, back in the early days when, with the help of a couple of famous comics in town, they had "salted the mine" with wines acquired at auction (an Imperial I think, of 1929 Mouton-Rothschild was prominently displayed, but there were some "affordable" things as well).

But as time went on the logistics of the store faltered, and I was billed for a bunch of things I'd never received and that they'd run out of. So I stopped dealing with them.

When I mentioned this to the surgeon, he said "D___?! D___ is a crook!

Recently I read the amusing book The Billionaire's Vinegar, and D___ is in there, having been found out (and denying everything) selling a case of DRC Montrachet to a wealthy collector, which was proven to be counterfeit.

Apparently counterfeit rare wine is far more prevalent than I might have supposed. I am pleased to have drunk a lot of famous wines before they became so valuable that they tempted crooks to simulate, as I am reasonably sure the ones I've had were genuine.

diyAudio Member RIP
Joined 2005
Nick Rivers is handed a bottle by Chocolate Mousse in the movie Top Secret!, and drinks and gags and spits it out. CM reveals it to be gasoline, of which he drinks heartily.

This would be the appropriate place to make some joke about Two-Buck Chuck being soon cheaper than petrol, at the rate things are going.

Joined 2002
Paid Member