• These commercial threads are for private transactions. diyAudio.com provides these forums for the convenience of our members, but makes no warranty nor assumes any responsibility. We do not vet any members, use of this facility is at your own risk. Customers can post any issues in those threads as long as it is done in a civil manner. All diyAudio rules about conduct apply and will be enforced.

What's the BEST 45 tube and where can I buy it?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I am new with DHT tubes, and want to make my own 45 amplifiier. I heatd so many great things about this tube. Does it really sound better than the 2A3?

Who has experiences with this tube, and what's the best place to buy it? I heard a lot of good things about the Sofia (=Fullmusic??) 45. Is there a Fullmusic official website? I only found this one: http://www.fullmusic.de but why is it in Germany? THey show mesh and solid plates, but how about the sound? Is the Emission Labs 45 a good tube as well? Where can I buy it?

What is the BEST Single Ended tranformer for this tube... Where to buy it? Sorry for the many questions. I am in search for many answers. Please reply to this post when you have some information about the 45.

Thanks!!! William Lee, Hong Kong

Dear William,

Opinions vary on the "best" tube... but the 45 does have a very strong following. I have built a number of 2A3 amps and nothing has come close to my 45 amps even though the circuit topology was similar.

Try http://www.diyhifisupply.com in Hong Kong for FullMusic or TJ 45 tubes; I am not affiliated with DIY Hi Fi. Emission Labs is also reported to be good. However, 45 tubes are often available through ebay at good prices... but "cavate emptor" (buyer beware)!

There are several great transformers for the 45 tube:

Magnequest ES-050 air gapped
Magnequest EXO-050 parafeed
Tamura F-5003 amorphous air gapped