• These commercial threads are for private transactions. diyAudio.com provides these forums for the convenience of our members, but makes no warranty nor assumes any responsibility. We do not vet any members, use of this facility is at your own risk. Customers can post any issues in those threads as long as it is done in a civil manner. All diyAudio rules about conduct apply and will be enforced.

Custom-Built 35Hz 145 dB Bass Horn...FOR SALE

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've just listed this killer, custom-built folded bass horn on eBay.

I've been building bass horns for 20 years as a hobby, and this one is my best yet.

I'm selling it because we're planning a new baby and need the money. It breaks my heart because of all the horns I've built, this one is so totally rigid, clear, and true-sounding.

Imagine 145dB at 1000 Watts; I've run it that loud, and it sounds like a wrecking ball is hitting the house...I've never thought bass was TOO loud, but this thing comes awfully close.

It picks up the most subtle details; just 1 watt is sufficient for about 120dB at the mouth. Watching movies like "War of the Worlds" becomes a visceral experience. It easily puts to shame club sound systems.

This is NOT a boom-box like those bandpass boxes or a conventional ported box. Both of those color the sound horrendously.

A bass horn, on the other hand, produces extremely loud and undistorted sound because of the basic physics behind it; it is an impedance matching device, coupling the speaker cones efficiently to the air at the mouth of the horn. Effectively, with this horn, it's like having a 3 foot X 6 foot speaker diaphragm.

Because it's quite large and heavy, local pickup will be the only way to get it.

Please have a look, and message me on eBay or here if you want details.

Some more design details