My IB sub sounds dead. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th March 2007, 11:53 PM   #1
jonz is offline jonz  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default My IB sub sounds dead.

After I upgraded my IB from 2 tempest to 4... all was fine.... then I started playing around with the BFD... it was going good.... then as as yesterday....the subs feel like thier running on 7 cylinders..

Things I have done so far to see what the problem is...

- I bypassed the BFD.... no improvement

- I completely removed BFD... nothing...
- I rechecked speakons on amp and tried regular binding posts hookup.... nothing...( I did this cause I added the speakons recently)

- I checked all settings on my AVR for sub out... nothing...

- I disconnected my main speakers and played only my IB...and it can't hit more than 92 DB on my digital RS meter... the cones are moving a lot... but it's completely void of any visceral feeling....I know definitely something wrong...but can't figure it out...

I checked all connections on subs.....

What else can I do?
Old 19th March 2007, 01:06 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

A mystery - let's call Nancy Drew (actually Sherlock might be better).

My first instinct is bench test it.
First, check each driver individually (and out of their baffles). Might be a bit of work, but once they're all on the bench then testing them is much easier. Only amp and source for this bit.
If they all work individually (and my guess is 'no'), then wiring them up again and retesting (on the bench) is the second step. Only amp and source for this bit too.
Then start bringing in your other elements (you'll have to excuse me but I haven't a clue what a speakon or a BFD is) and checking it with them.