Dipolar or box sub for Visaton B200's

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi. I'm hoping you can help a complete beginner here.

I have some Visaton B200's in open baffle and a "Critical Q" sub that I made. They were my first ever diy projects.

The Critical Q sub I found here: http://www.customanalogue.com/sub_index.htm
It promised to be fast and accurate and I cant say I am disappointed. It blends in seemlesly with the B200's with the help of a Behringer BFD1124.

But I have heard it mentioned that dipolar subs are theoretically better. I've seen some used with the B200 in a sort of H-shaped open baffle and I'm wondering if this might be worth trying.

The sub used a Peerless 12 inch XLS - Model 830500 driver, (Fs: 18.1 Hz * SPL: 90.6 dB 2.83V/1m * Vas: 4.92 cu. ft. * Qms: 3.7 * Qes: .21 * Qts: .20 * Xmax: 12.5mm)

Which design do you think would be better? Is Q=0.5 ideal? I would be willing to give up 10hz of extention if required.

many thanks for any help

bevan

Hi,

Fs is too low for my taste, same with Qts. moving mass on the other side is rather high.
Folded Baffles -regardless of their shape- lower fs even further. But thats contraproductive when Fs (freeair) is already in the subsonic-range. For a 12" driver I prefer a fs around 25-30HZ.
The very low Qts makes massive equalization a must. Since transient response is best with Qts between 0.5-0.7 I prefer drivers with higher Qts values. My rule of experience says the bigger the driver, the lower its Qts can be (for dipole usage), but I wouldn´t choose a 12"er lower than ~0.35.