Help with Sub design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK I'm a rookie at this... I've read and searched these boards for hours looking for a question close to mine with no luck so...

I'm trying to build to 15" subs. (they will be used with a surround sound system consisting of a center channel (2-8"s and 2 1"), two front satellites (5 and 1) and 2 10" rears...

I've loaded my parameters into WINSD PRO and the vented diagram looks awesome
Fs 29Hz
Qts .67
Qes .80
QMS 3.97
Vas 4.6
SD .0491M
SPL 90 dB 1W/1M
Xmax = 16mm

The problem I'm having is with the box size! It says it needs 21.46 ft3 with a 4" vent 1.81" long.

I've really only got 21" wide by 27" tall by 32" deep.

Can anyone help me with a box design? Also, any tips on crossing these over (what freq and how steep)

thanks alot,
Greg

diyAudio Moderator Emeritus
Joined 2001
Vented boxes with a Qts over 0.5 usually are considered boomy and distort a lot. Some members have used some circuits to correct that, I haven't, so I thought I would let you know.

Fs = 29 Hz seems awful high for a 15 incher you'll be using as a sub.

Also, I believe your Sd should equal something near 0.08 sq M, not 0.049 sq M, which would seem to be the Sd of a 12 incher.

The Vas = 4.9, is that cubic feet?

Judging by the Thiele-Small parameters you gave, I am not sure this driver was meant to be used as a home theater sub at all. I think it would do nicely as the woofer in a large sealed enclosure of 5 cu ft or so.

If you loaded this speaker into your 10.5 cu ft enclosure, (that's what the dimensions you gave come to), sealed, you'd get some pretty decent bass, but probably not the depth you were hoping for. It wouldn't be bad, it just wouldn't be earth shatteringly great, either.