Aura NRT18-8

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I w as wondering if anyone had any experience with the Aura NRT18-8. I just ordered 4 of them to go into a pair of 20ft3 cabinets with 25 Hz tuning and a pair QSC PLX2502 power amplifiers to drive them with. They will be for a medium sized movie theater. I already had the boxes constructed before I ordered the drivers, they were originally intened for another type of driver but that deal fell through. Any reviews/experience with these subs would helpfull, I am just curious as to hear what others have experienced.

Thanks!

-Mike

I though it was the ones bass pig used they look similar but way different.
I have had no experience with them but I’d like to know how it all turns out.

Just a quick question how are the qsc amps do they deliver the watts specified? Will any of them pound an 18” solo x or a 15” thunder 9500?
Thanks for the info

I haven't tested any of the new PLX amps, this is the first set I have purchased, but the older set (I had a pair of the 3.4KW PLX ones, can't remember the model number) they met thier power specs when I measured them into a dummy load, my test equipment I was using consisted of a o-scope, so visible clipping was all I could look for as far as distortion, and a Fluke 87 to measure the RMS voltage into the load. Problem is, they were actually putting out like 1700 watts per channel into 2 ohms, but with both channels driven my clamp meter was saying something like 40+ amps of current draw on a 120V line. I have 40 amp circuits for my HT where I had it plugged in, most people do not, and I have doubts that the amp would meet it's specified power into an average 15 or 20 amp household 120V circuit..... Overseas even with the 13 amp 230V circuits, I think you would be pushing it....

But, solid amps.

Here is a link to the subwoofer build-up-

http://www.forceaudio.com/showthread.php?t=201