Commercial isobaric sub inspiration - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st December 2006, 09:06 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Commercial isobaric sub inspiration

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the concept of isobaric subs. Yesterday I was in a hifi store listening to the B & W PV1 sub, and it performs very well indeed, the bass is tight and well defined, probably the best commercial music sub I have heard so far. Would it be possible and worth the effort to try to do something similar diy-style?

PV1 white paper

Can someone help me by elaborating on the pros and cons of the B & W PV1 sub design? If I interpret the white paper (link above) correctly, the drivers are mounted back-to-back and connected in phase. As I understand it this doesn't help to reduce distorsion originating from the drivers, but reduce vibrations in the enclosure and makes for a very stable sub ...

Regards,
M.A.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pv1_sub.jpg (6.1 KB, 402 views)
Old 1st December 2006, 12:09 PM   #2
BAM is offline BAM
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to BAM
I don't think the PV1 is an isobaric sub, just your typical sealed enclosure with a driver on each side.
Old 1st December 2006, 03:01 PM   #3
theNoid is offline theNoid  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to theNoid
Quote:
Originally posted by BAM
I don't think the PV1 is an isobaric sub, just your typical sealed enclosure with a driver on each side.
Yuppers BAM.

The PV1 is a great sounding subwoofer but as far as I am concerned, you can build just as good sounding of a sub for a lot less money. Just my thoughts.

If you are truly interested in isobarik designs, here is quickie info page to check out... http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxes2.asp

Noidster
Old 4th December 2006, 07:25 AM   #4
diyAudio Member