Shiva sealed design converted to vented problems - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th October 2006, 03:10 AM   #1
jquin is offline jquin  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default Shiva sealed design converted to vented problems

Hi Guys/Girls

I am new to this obviously.
Some years ago I bought a Shiva Mk1 and built
the 88.5 Litre sealed reference design by adire.
I was not impressed by the bass so I ported it
with a 4" port, length calculated by WinISD.

Now all I designed the port length for was max flatness.
Measurements have backed up the port length I used by changing
it and remeasuring.

So this is not a recognised alignment like SBB4.
Now it sounds much better than the sealed but is this subwoofer suicide?
Should I be rebuilding it to get "so much more" out of the driver.
Old 6th October 2006, 04:33 AM   #2
JinMTVT is offline JinMTVT  Canada
diyAudio Member

i just built a sub with the new Shiva driver in 12"
and a 300W Bash amplifier
using a 95liters sealed enclosure...

and i have to say WOAAAAA

this cheap driver reallly rocks
are you sure that you got ur stuff working correctly with the sealed box ?

what amplification are you using ?
Old 6th October 2006, 03:08 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Now it sounds much better than the sealed but is this subwoofer suicide?

that kinda depends...

by changing to a ported box you have altered the way the driver is loaded. In a sealed box much of the 'springing' responsible for restraining the cone is provided by the air volume in the box.
In a vented or ported box that pretty much vanishes, and the restraint is provided by the physical construction of the driver - the spider, surround, the pole pieces etc.