Another which subwoofer question...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Newbie here... I'm interested in a sub to go with my Fostex 167 ML-TL speakers. All I want is to fill in the bottom end. My requirement are that I want a sound that is solid, well defined and fast. Also that its not too big and with a price of ~$200. Doesn't have to go loud and too deep ~25-30Hz. I want to hear clarity of the notes on a standup string bass. Most of my music is jazz and acoustic pop mixed with a few vintage rock songs.

I want to build only one now but but might think about adding a second one in the future to go with some smaller fullrangers, ie FE 108. Crossed over around 70Hz or so for now.

Can I get away with 10" and a 200W amp? Sealed or ported and which drivers would you suggest for my application?

TIA...

10" and 200W should be just fine. I'd go sealed.

If you don't mind a big box, one like this would be great in 3.5cuft:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=296-434

Or this one in about 1cuft:
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=295-460

Morel has a couple options too if you don't mind increasing your budget a little, and Dayton also has a couple cheaper options than those two.

I didn't check Madisound, but I'm sure there are suitable options there too.

Thanks, but let me ask this in a different way. With my requirements about the type of sound I'm looking for what should I be looking for in a subwoof driver and the cabinet itself? As stated earlier I want something fast with a lot of definition. Which cabinet type should I choose and what type of specs should I look for in a driver.

PS. I'm starting my search but still need some direction in which way to go. Too many options out there...

Lothar34 said:
Sealed enclosure.

Driver with a strong motor and lightweight cone. I think that first one would be perfect.