Probably an easy question...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So I have two tower speakers with seperate unpowered woofers, Yamaha model NS-A1738. They have 15" woofers, so I am going to use them as my front right and left surround speakers, and also together as my subwoofer. The speakers have two sets of connectors on the back, one for the upper portion, and one for the subs.

Connecting them as right and left surround speakers to my Yamaha HTR-5835 reciever is simple enough, but how do I connect them both as subs (or I guess, more accurately, as one big sub) to the single subwoofer connection on my reciever?

I'm a newbie, so forgive me if I'm using incorrect terms, etc.- I hope you get the gist of my question...

Hi maguire,

First thoughts would be to connect them in parallel. However, there are conditions.

Firstly, are these 8 ohm speakers? With both connected to one amp, each in the normal way, the amp should be capable of driving 4 ohms.

Are these speakers crossed over? If your mids are not producing bass, the performance of the new 'fronts' may lack a little. Considering the woofer is side mounted, the crossover frequency is probably low anyway.

Are you certain that the mids/tweet are isolated from the woofer by way of these separate connections?

Do you have the capability to adjust the level of the bass independently to suit your setup?

INDM:

Thanks for the response! Little embarrassing, but I don't know what "connect them in parallel" means... how exactly does one do this?

The speakers are 6 OHM's... but again, I have no idea what an OHM is. As for if they are crossed over... way over my head.

Here's a link to the Yamaha description page- you can click on "specifications" and it gives you even more detail...

http://www.yamaha.com/cgi-win/webcgi.exe/Features/?gSPK00010NS-A1738