Group delay and phase?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to designing loudspeakers. I have another thread elsewhere on this site about rebuilding a pair of classic Tannoys. But since I've got my hands on a pair of cheap but excellent Dynaudio Audience 122's, that plan is put on hold for now. The tannoys are now the surround channels in my 5.1 setup. This thread is about the .1 - the subwoofer.

I've been working on a few ideas for a subwoofer. Initially, I wanted to go for a 8" or 10" vented design. But those didn't give me the bass extension I wanted, without becoming incredibly large. Frequency, phase and groupdelay plots were quite smooth. I've also experimented with two 6th order bandpass designs. Those give me useable bandwith (25Hz - 60Hz) at decent spl levels, especially with an 8" Visaton TIW200XS driver. However, Groupdelay and Phase plots go off the charts. I can't imagine that's good for perfomance. I'm not exactly sure what groupdelay means, so if someone could explain it in a nutshell, I'd be greatful. But I imagine a lower value means faster response and better articulation. My dynaudio's are pretty fast in the low end, so if the sub is to integrate well, it should be fast aswell. Right?

Please take a look at the pictures below. Comments are greatly appreciated. I'd like to know things like how do bandpass designs compare to vented designs. Things about performance in general, etc.

Thank you!!!

Attachments

• gain plots sml.jpg
    gain plots sml.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 321
Group-delay is the delay of the specific frequency with respect to the original, so longer delay is worse. Bear in mind that the plot you are looking at appears worse than it is because it is including the low-pass element of the system, which is often not modelled when looking at more traditional box designs.