How to make high output subwoofer? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th May 2006, 06:42 PM   #1
Ric_LV is offline Ric_LV  Latvia
diyAudio Member

Default How to make high output subwoofer?

Hello!

I am a mobile DJ and I am fed up with renting the subwoofer for my events. I want to build one for my own. I got a great deal for a pair of Eminence 18" woofers ( http://www.usspeaker.com/SigmaPro-18-1.htm ), I got them basically for free, brand new... Anyway, now I have the speakers, but how do I create the subwoofer box? What type of box gives the loudest bass? Let's say, I don't need no super-lows, just something above 30 or 35 Hz. Something simple, but efficient. And one more thing, I am a newbie. Can you help?
Old 24th May 2006, 07:13 PM   #2
Did it Himself
diyAudio Member

Big vented box for those babies. Download yourself a copy of WinISD Pro and have a play with some designs.
Old 24th May 2006, 07:45 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Start by downloading winisd pro from there website, its free.
Obtain the thiele/small parameters from the link you posted, and you can model the woofers in the program. Model the woofers in sealed, ported, 4th and 6th order bandpass, note the excursion of each type, the max spl, group delay and the box size required. The EBP will determine the recommended box type, see winisd help file for explanation on that.

The simplest to build and tune is the first one I mentioned, they get bigger, louder and harder to tune as the list progresses. There is more to it than that but a quick search on each type will get you a ton of important info to clarify the differences.