Dayton RS HiFi 12" Sub using Linkwitz Transform EQ--Design Proposal

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I have been searching for some design ideas for the Hi-Fi version of the Dayton RS 12" sub, especially since they are sale this month, but I have yet to find any that have caught my eye. Thus, I figured I would throw something out there for comments before diving into building a new sub. This is my first attempt at designing a speaker, so any comments are more than welcome!

Here are my design goals:
“Moderate” box size
Sealed box
Usable response down to 20 Hz
Cheap!!!

I want to use a sealed box, both for ease of construction and to avoid port issues/noise. Of course, a good starting point would be to model the response of the speaker in the box, so I used WinISD and got the response below in a 1.9 cu. ft. sealed box. Obviously there is a lot missing on the low end. To solve this, I would like to use a Linkwitz transform circuit as an EQ to bring up the low end. Modeling this circuit to try and get f3 of 20 Hz gives, what I believe to be, pretty reasonable values without too drastically having to boost the low end. (If the circuit/component values would be helpful, I’ll post them too!) I know the ~8dB boost at 20Hz is a lot to ask of the amp, but as I said, I am not looking for massive output in that frequency range—just something reasonable.

I figured a Bash 300W plate amp would be a nice fit for this since I am not trying to tear the house down with this sub. Also, I would be worried about too much power for this driver if I went with a 500W amp. If I do need more output, I can add another unit, but I am not really a volume fiend (not that that is bad or any thing!) so I doubt that I will ever push this unit to its max. (Famous last words, right??)