subwoofer questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

I'm planning to build a subwoofer in the near future, and as I'm not very technical I would like to buy a kit or build a diy project which already had good feedback.

I'm going to use the sub only for music in a room of about 32m2 (about 25feet long and 15feet wide if I calculated correctly). As I'm living in the Netherlands it can be a hassle to get drivers from the US (If there is somebody here from europe that knows where I can order drivers e.g. like dayton, adire please let me know). Anyway I first need to make the choice of a ported box or sealed box. some people say a ported box is not as good as a sealed box for music, some people say a ported box can be as good for music as a sealed on.

* The Alcone sub 12, is a kit what is readily available in europe and had very good reviews, but it is a ported box

* the directservo sub from rhythmik also has great reviews but I have to import it, which will be a hassle prob.

* Also peerless drivers are regarded very highly and are available in europe, does anybody knows a good design with e.g. the new xxls drivers in a sealed box?

so, does somebody can answer me the question about ported or sealed. Does anyone have expierence with the Alcone sub 12? does anyone knows good peerless sealed box designs? or any other designs which are obtainable in europe. And last but not least, is the directdervo sub so good that it is worth to import it? :)

cheers,

Jacob

I don't have any experience with the systems you mentioned, but I could tell you something about the choice for a ported or a sealed system.