"Houston we have a problem" Isobarik Sub - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th December 2005, 03:27 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default "Houston we have a problem" Isobarik Sub

I hope some one can answer this for me I am building a Isobarik sub using 2 Dayton Part # 295-185 dual VC sub. I thought I found a real good deal on 4 of these so I bought them. I was using Bass Box 6 for design and thought I had a real winner OPPS I made a big mistake I did not see bass box had set up as individual VC instead of parallel VC. At first I thought nothing of it untill my I reset Bass Box and seen my F3 went from 28 Hz to 52 HZ. I am a bit of a newbie at this home DIY, I have done many car subs just using the air space for the box for a sealed box and all was good. So what has happened here when I reset and started over the suggested air space went down to .64 from 1.489 Why would my Vb get cut 60% just by changing VC wiring to match the ohms for the amp I want to use? I can't see any way to use individual VC's in a isobarik sub but now I own 4 of these subs and really don't want to build a single sealed box that I have done a bunch of times before. Is there any way to get this sub to to flatten its response, or am I wrong to think this is a problem at all?
Old 10th December 2005, 08:29 AM   #2
Volenti is offline Volenti  Australia
diyAudio Member

Ignore the individual wiring option in bassbox, it appears to plot the response you would get with only one voice coil connected, unless of course you prefer that response and can deal with halving the power handling of the drivers.
Old 10th December 2005, 10:35 PM   #3
diyAudio Member