Anything wrong with my first sub design?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone, i've finally decided to start my own subwoofer project.

I'll be using the Dayton 10" HF reference http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=295-460
The 3.0 cubic ft. enclosure.
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=302-820
and the dayton 240 watt amp
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=300-804

My design will be ported with a tuning frequency of 20-22hz.
This is the WinISD graph.

Is there anything wrong with my design, for example should i change the tuning frequency, try a sealed design, use a different enclosure etc.
This is my first project and i wouldn't want to throw away the money.
Thank You!

Attachments

• response.gif
    response.gif
    28.7 KB · Views: 354
You could lower the tuning frequency because room will increase the bass response down low. It's better to have a slightly decreasing frequency response curve, like 0 dB at 80 Hz decreasing slightly to -4 dB at the tuning frequency. To do that you could use a longer port or a smaller box.

You're using a 10 inches driver with a good amplifier, check the excursion graph, I think your driver doesn't need all that power hehe, but more is better than less, if you can control yourself.

Try a smaller box, the hump will be gone. Then play with the tuning frequency. Maybe you'll need the same one, or lower, or higher.

Good luck!

BTW, that hump isn't that nasty, it's not even half a dB. It's a very small one, acceptable hump. If it was several dBs then ok worry about it hehe!

I'm looking at using that same driver and came up with a smaller box size. Optimal size calculated to 1.90 ft^3 and a 17"x3" vent. I don't have the pieces yet, but the driver+vent+amp will only displace ~0.2ft^3. I suppose you could put something in the box to gget you down to 1.90ft^3.