Horn questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So, I'm a bored college student with nothing to do but scheme about ways to improve my audio setup over the summer. I currently have a pair of 15" woofers from an old console unit tossed into 3 ft^3 boxes. I was thinking about ways to improve the efficiency of these, and am thinking about converting them to horns. However, after poking around a bit with google, I've found myself faced with a couple questions:

1. What influence does the choice of the curve defining the expansion of the horn have over the response?

2. How does the throat area influence the response?

3. Ideally, the horn should be 1/4 long as the lowest wavelength you're covering, correct? Or, am I thinking of a TL here? Because that gets some really big mouth sizes for an exponential horn.

Any pointers to specific resources would be appreciated.

Note: I do not know the T/S specs of these woofers, and do not have a test jig to measure them. So, any horn I design would be a general one, aimed mostly at increasing efficiency.

slackerbob said:

1. What influence does the choice of the curve defining the expansion of the horn have over the response?

2. How does the throat area influence the response?

3. Ideally, the horn should be 1/4 long as the lowest wavelength you're covering, correct?

Quick 'n dirty answers:
1. Different expansion curves have different lengths to get to the same mouth size, since 1/4 WL of the lowest freq you want to produce is a minimum, the expansion curves define the lowest freq your horn can safely reproduce for a given mouth size. (it's not that easy, mouth size itself is also a factor, but this is just to give you an idea.)