Can someone double check this sub modeling?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a newbie! Need to make sure I am getting the correct numbers here. Unibox is giving me fits.

It's a 105 Liter sealed enclosure.

Looking to use 2 Peerless 850146 in it. The way it's modeling for me it shows about -16dB at 20Hz. Is that in room?

Also I'm using the PE 300-792 plate amp. Will this 120 watt sub amp be able to drive 2 of those Peerless wired in parallel decently? Or do I need more juice?

Thanks!

Greets!

Box programs assume aneochoic half space, i.e. buried flush with the ground plane out in a huge flat field, so in-room response won't be anything like it down in the lower octaves due to room modes/misc. losses. Expect a sawtooth looking response instead. Since we are amplitude oriented creatures, we tend to only hear the peaks down low as long as the nulls aren't too broadband, so expect a somewhat more powerful output than the program predicts, though it still won't 'sound' very loud due to our hearing curve. FWIW, using some measured specs I get -15 dB/20 Hz so I guess you have a 'handle' on Unibox. ;)

With 120W you're right at the Xmax limit down low, so looks fine, with well over 100 dB/20 Hz/m peak capability depending on positioning/room size even with some thermal power compression, so unless you're trying to reach DD/DTS reference in a HT app or split all the drywall joints with organ symphonies (been there, done that :() it should be adequate.

GM

Would that mean that you could use one peerless 850146 in a 50 to 60 litre sealed box,build 2 of them (with an amp each) and run them in stereo - getting similar results - but better because its in stereo.

Also - why use the 850146 and not one of the sub speakers eg 830452 ?

Sorry- I'm very interested and trying to learn.