help designing an enclosure - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st July 2005, 01:04 AM   #1
felzi is offline felzi  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default help designing an enclosure

hi i have a pioneer Ts-W384c.
i have posted about this sub b4 asking about types of enclosures.
i was wondering what size enclosure and type would be best for home use. (sealed or vented)
the replys from last post gave me different size enclosures than what i thought would be good, but i'm no expert so i need some help designing my box.
any help would be good
Thanks

displacement 0.111 cu.ft 3.15 lt
sensitivity 91 db/w
nom power 350w
max power 700w
revc 3.0 ohm
levc 2.160 mh
fs 20.7 hz
qms 10.238
qes 0.317
qts 0.308
vas 11.358 cu.ft 321.62lt
rms 2.375 n.s/m
mms 185.83 g
cms 3.180x10-4 m/n
diam 12.9" 328mm
bl 15.668t.m
xmax 0.36" 9.2mm
Old 1st July 2005, 01:48 AM   #2
DcibeL is offline DcibeL  Canada
diyAudio Member

Sealed or vented? Depends how big do you want your sub box to be? A sealed box will be smaller, but a vented box will allow for more and deeper bass output. The audiophiles will tell you that the sealed box sounds far better, but given a high quality driver, I prefer more output and deeper bass. IMO a well designed ported box can sound equally as good as a sealed one.

Once you've decided how big you want your sub box to be, we can work out the other parameters.
Old 1st July 2005, 01:50 AM   #3
DcibeL is offline DcibeL  Canada
diyAudio Member

I should also add that pioneer recommend this sub for a sealed enclosure around 2 ft^3 due to the low Qts.
Old 1st July 2005, 03:25 AM   #4
GM is offline GM  United States
diyAudio Member

Greets!