Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th March 2005, 08:17 PM   #1
bigwill is offline bigwill  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Low Qts woofer

I have my eye on a nice but cheap woofer driver with a Qts of 0.27, and a VAS of around 120L, and an FS of 26Hz. What type of enclosure would it be best for? I'm thinking a TL because of the low Qts, but I'm not an expert on these things. Any suggestions? (Note: I plan to make stereo woofers, if that's helpful)
Old 10th March 2005, 09:49 PM   #2
Mark Kravchenko --- www.kravchenko-audio.com
diyAudio Member

Default Check for online enclosure calculators

Bear in mind that generally spealing that a low qts driver will have a fairly quick roll of in the low end. It will benefit the most from a vented enclosure.

Mark
Old 10th March 2005, 10:05 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

The downside of a low Qts driver in a basreflex is that it, in order to get low, will have quite a big groupdelay. On the other hand that doesn't seem to bother a lot of people out there. It's also the easiest solution I guess.

Low Qts drivers are suited for hornloaded but you'll need a huge enclosure to get low.

Personally I use a low Qts driver in a TL (0,297), with an smaller mouth than throat. It's not tuned at the Fs but a little bit higher to get a flatter response. It was simulated with AJ-horn.

Mvg Johan
Old 10th March 2005, 10:30 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

You'd think the magnet having more control over the cone would give you deeper bass, wouldn't you
Old 11th March 2005, 07:05 AM   #5
diyAudio Member

Yeah, you would think so. Too bad that deep bass and efficiency are about the opposite of each other.