Servo Drive Sub woofer - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th February 2005, 01:31 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to nbcaudio Send a message via MSN to nbcaudio
Default Servo Drive Sub woofer

I'm curious if there is a plan or schematic for a servodriven woofer. I'm talking about one that actually uses an actuater attached to the cone to get the push/pull motion. I also wonder about parts.

I know that a company called Servodrive builds subwoofers based on this principle. My idea is to experiment with this design with smaller speakers 10" and 12" and use them in full range 3 way cabinets.

Does anyone know where I can find drawings and parts for this type design? I confess that I'm a real newbie at this and my knowledge and experience is limited at best and is closer to non-exisistant.

Thanks for your replies and help.
Old 18th February 2005, 08:59 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to BassAwdyO
doesnt the servodrive website have a drawing? if not, basically it works on the same concept as an auto engine's piston in reverse. you're converting rotation into pistonic movement.

While rotation is harmonic in 2 dimensions, pistonic is only harmoic in one. I believe the motors' armature actually twists one way then the other in this design and thus requires a low inertia moter.

I want to try a design using a flywheel and a piston system to make high intensity infrasound where the motor continuously turns.
Old 22nd February 2005, 04:22 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

This review might interest you:
http://www.ultimateavmag.com/feature...ay/index3.html

It was compared to a range of other quite expensive subs.