Noob Tempest Questions - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd January 2005, 07:51 AM   #1
Ranthum is offline Ranthum  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Noob Tempest Questions

This is my first attempt at building a home sub. I've built a few for my car, but nothing too complex. I've been doing quite a bit of reading and I decided that i wanted to use an adire tempest based on price(i'm in college and don't have much cash) and performance. I still have a few questions though(if they've already been asked, I apoligize as I couldn't find what I was looking for).
Where can I order a tempest from? Every site that carries them seems to be sold out.
I am looking at building the low q sealed or adire vented enclosure from the adire website. Which would be more suited to mostly ht use, or is there a better design without taking up more space?
Also, I've heard that it's better not to brace it so the enclosure so that it gets divided into equal sections. What's the best way to do it with the adire plans?
I've looked at a few amplifiers but don't really know which one to choose. I'm looking at the 250w from MCM electronics, PE, or Rythmik. I might possibly spend a little extra and get the 350w from Rythmik if it would be worth it(I'd like to spend as little as possible but still get the best bang for my buck). Which would you choose?
That's all for now. Thanks in advance.

Josh

PS Right now my system consists of a yamaha htr-5760 and fluance sx-htb speaker package. I'm in a small dorm room now, but I want a sub that acts well in a larger room once I move out(i'd like it to be flat to 25 anechoic). I might add a BFB to help out, but not right away.
Old 2nd January 2005, 02:31 PM   #2
Grahamt is offline Grahamt  Canada
diyAudio Member