Cheap sub project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there... I'm totally new to DIY, but I have a subwoofer I got for free at Radio Shack because it was a damaged display model... it seems to be fine, I replaced the crappy feet with spikes, and i need to replace the woofer as there is a scuff mark on it.

The sub is a powered 8" downward firing Merak, which is made by Axiom. I just wanted some advice on an inexpensive driver to replace the existing one with. Links to places I can buy them online would be helpfull.

Keep in mind the whole sub was worth $120 brand new so no sense in putting anything expensive in it at all.

The sub will be mainly used for music but some HT work as well. I'm using PSB Image 2B mains.

Thanks

hmmz...
what to say.
i advise you to either repair the driver, or, if that is no possible,get rid of the sub and try something new. Finding a driver that would suit to the box can be very hard. unless ofcourse the original driver is still available and you are willing to pay its price (replacement units are usually more expensive than they have to be).
for about $250 you can make yourself a pretty good sub!
for example: you should be able to buy an Adire Shiva at a little over $100. The shiva doesn't need a big amp persé. Some small submodule for about $100, and then just add the wood and glue!
Sealed would be good, and easiest to build...

you're right ofcourse richie.
however, i do think The Guardian should think hard if he really wants to do it. What is he expecting the sound would become like? What is he willing to spend for something that will definitely not be musical-sounding bass. And as he sais music is the main purpose of the sub, i suggest he builds something else.
the chance is very small that the sub would improve the musicality of the system.