Help with HiVi subwoofer needed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi folks

I'm a cabinet builder so please excuse my ignorance on this matter. I'm in the process of building a HT system comprised of a kit from Stryke Audio consisting of five S1-MTM's and I'd like to build a matching subwoofer. I've been looking at the HiVi D10G driver for this application. I would like to use twin driver in this sub. I would like to know what you guys think of this driver. Am I way off base? I will confess that i am making the driver decision partly on the aesthetic of the yellow kevlar. Manufacturer specs this driver at Fs 25Hz.

Good idea? Bad idea?

Link to driver:

HiVi D10g driver specs

Link to the cab I'm building to house the drivers:

Sub enclosure

Thanks for any input
Christof

Hi Christof,im the opposite- I get a joiner to cut the wood for my sub projects ;-)

For those of us on 56k- perhaps you could list basic driver parameters (fs,Qts,Vas,xmax,pe)-as it takes a long time to download pdf files near 1mb in size.

3cubic ft per driver?
Id go for 130litres and 23hz tune.The drivers have high Qts for ported-id only use them for HT when a boomy nature isnt so worrying.

a 3cubic ft box per driver of ported type has a few db over 90litre sealed.

Note that power input isnt able to be high due to limited driver displacement.

For HT lows large displacement drivers are required.

Cheers!

This driver is a woofer, not really a subwoofer. For LFE use it will be a bit disapointing. It is 10" and has a low xmax (8mm). This driver is more suited to use as a woofer in a 3 way tower with one per side with a bit more extension and output than a typical midbass driver for music. The Shiva is a good benchmark in terms of output capability for a HT sub ie a 12" driver with ~15mm xmax.

I understand where you are coming from with style being an important issue, it is for me as important as performance.