My Subwoofer Woes. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th April 2004, 06:08 PM   #1
Merlin is offline Merlin  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default My Subwoofer Woes.

Hello,

This is my first post over here and I am a complete novice when it comes to building loudspeakers but am keen to learn.

My first project was a pair of 15" subwoofers, intended primarily for music listening. The cabinet design is a 115l enclosure vented and tuned to 27hz. The actual plans were supplied by a professional and I am generally very happy.

I do find however, that the bass is somewhat muffled at times (not sure if that's the right term), and lacks transient attack low down. I lined the interior of the cabinet with Dacron 1" thick and was wondering whether this might have something to do with the issue? Would removing the lining liven up the sound. I only ask as the drivers are 40lb each and it is not an easy job to remove them.

Any help would be really apreciated.
Old 18th April 2004, 06:48 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Do you know what the drivers are?
Old 18th April 2004, 06:55 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks,

It's the JBL 1500AL.

One other thought was to bung the port, but I don't know if this would be good for the driver.
Old 18th April 2004, 07:10 PM   #4
Did it Himself
diyAudio Member

That amount of lining will probably make no noticeable difference to the sound of a subwoofer.

You could try bunging the port. If you do this, be aware that what you may percieve as tighter sound may well just be down to the fact that the response rolls off a bit higher.

What amp(s) are you using to drive the subs and where are you taking the feed from? This may make a bit of difference.
Old 18th April 2004, 07:16 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Thanks again.