What can I expect by dropping these in a T line?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've got 2 pairs (4 drivers total) of Dayton DC160-4 6.5" drivers and a pair of Dayton DC28F-8 tweeters laying around. I'd bought them for a tower build, but am realizing that that design is (a) playing on the border of mltl physics rather than ported and (b) has pretty crappy workmanship so far, so I'm considering bailing on it and using the drivers to make my first t line.

I'm considering a TL because I'm understanding that they generally provide better SQ, volume, and extension over a ported/sealed box at the cost of size and weight. Given that they'd be in a tower format and pretty much left in one spot (either computer or HT), I don't mind making a taller/heavier speaker.

I'm just getting started on my TL research, but I'd just like to ask right off the bat what sort of results I could expect from these drivers in terms of SQ (flatness), SPL (don't need anything too crazy - 110dB should be way plenty), and extension (as low as reasonably possible) and if they would play well with TL at all.

Basically, my question is, for those of you with TL experience, how should I set my expectations, and goals for this potential build given these drivers? I realize I'm doing that a little backwards, but I'm just trying to figure out if a TL is a good candidate for these drivers I've got laying around or not. Checking out the graphs, it looks like I'd be running an XO point around 1,300-1,500 or so, so there would be a good deal of mids coming from them as well. Pro tips are appreciated!

GM

Joined 2003
Really?! It's just an elongated reflex, though for the novice, easily designed in Hornresp's Loudspeaker Wizard [LW]. TLs OTOH requires a bit more knowledge, experience and/or the LW or similar horn design software.