Using subwoofer as a piece of furniture...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Construction of my subwoofer is almost underway - the enclosure is going to be 100 litres. I'm a student and don't have a huge amount of space - so is it possible to use this (totally unshielded) sub as a TV stand, where the TV will not be switched on at the same time as the sub? If the (standard CRT) TV is not switched on, will any damage occur? The motor structure is going to end up around 30cm away from the bottom of the television set.
Also, I've heard that the box can be made to appear larger than it is by stuffing it with fibrous material. Does anyone have anything to say on this? Materials/suggestions?
The box is sealed, in case that makes a difference.

Thanks a lot!

The recommended ratio is one pound per cubic foot of enclosure volume. The recommended stuffing is either Miraflex or Accustuff but people have been known to use pillow stuffing. Stuffing has the most effect below 100 Hz. Open cell foam is a better damping material above 100 Hz.

Duo said:
Also, the intense vibration produced by many subs will probably shorten the life of the tv. It could knock the convergence or whatever on the tube, or cause problems elsewhere. Mind you, you have to run the sub pretty loud to do this, but I've had it happen.

(The tv usually goes wonky before the windows break.)
If he installs 2 drivers, one front-firing and the other rear-firing, there will be minimal vibration (that is, if he doesn't accidentally connect them out of phase).

Thanks guys

Yeah I thought the magnet might be a problem even with it switched off, but was hoping it wasn't.