Building Compact Subwoofer with 8 inch speakers - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th March 2016, 08:49 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Building Compact Subwoofer with 8 inch speakers

Hi guys,

I'm new to building speakers. My church, sits 100 - 150 people, needs a compact subwoofer that will be placed under stage (in an 24 in. x 13 in. opening) in the center. The stage is not very large and has no room for a 15 - 18 inch subwoofer. I have attached a photo of the stage.

After doing some research and talking to technical support at parts-express.com, looking into building a very compact subwoofer using two 8 inch BC 8FG64 woofers (600 watt 8 ohm each) using two 12 in. x 12 in. x 12 in. cabinets from Parts-Express.

Will I get enough bass from these speakers? If so, what other parts (crossovers, high pass filters, etc) would I need?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ~1457373103~IMG_0624 copy.jpg (185.7 KB, 211 views)
Old 7th March 2016, 09:14 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

How low of a frequency do you need to hit? That driver seems to be more of a midbass driver, with an f3 near 80Hz by my calculations. They certainly have the power handling though.
Old 7th March 2016, 09:18 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

What does the main PA look like? - Those look like some serious wedge monitors for vocal use, so I'd expect a fairly hefty main system to reflect this.

IMO, a pair of 8"s in a room that big won't help much. Put them in a fairly big TH tuned quite high, and you might hear them from the back. Those small sealed boxes won't help the drivers.