Building Compact Subwoofer with 8 inch speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

I'm new to building speakers. My church, sits 100 - 150 people, needs a compact subwoofer that will be placed under stage (in an 24 in. x 13 in. opening) in the center. The stage is not very large and has no room for a 15 - 18 inch subwoofer. I have attached a photo of the stage.

After doing some research and talking to technical support at parts-express.com, looking into building a very compact subwoofer using two 8 inch BC 8FG64 woofers (600 watt 8 ohm each) using two 12 in. x 12 in. x 12 in. cabinets from Parts-Express.

Will I get enough bass from these speakers? If so, what other parts (crossovers, high pass filters, etc) would I need?

Attachments

• ~1457373103~IMG_0624 copy.jpg
    ~1457373103~IMG_0624 copy.jpg
    185.7 KB · Views: 364
What does the main PA look like? - Those look like some serious wedge monitors for vocal use, so I'd expect a fairly hefty main system to reflect this.

IMO, a pair of 8"s in a room that big won't help much. Put them in a fairly big TH tuned quite high, and you might hear them from the back. Those small sealed boxes won't help the drivers.
You'll need an amplifier, and (presumably) a feed from the mixing desk. Something like an NU3000DSP will do nicely - a few hundred watts per side, and all the crossovers etc built-in.

Chris

Joined 2014
Paid Member
Is the stage hollow all the way back. Can't help wondering if you view the slot you have as the port you could fit something meaty in there.Either that or behind the plants and in front of the drummer isolation unit. (I really want to photoshop animal from the muppets in there).

Last edited:
What does the main PA look like? - Those look like some serious wedge monitors for vocal use, so I'd expect a fairly hefty main system to reflect this.