what do you think of these?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
It's my first year in pro audio, and never see something liek this, somebody probably though about it, but I never find result, maybe you do!

so here some designs, not plans! the dimenssion are not ok and everything is not calculated... but when it will be, will it work?

I put SketchUp doc so you can edit them if you want!

thanks! :)

Attachments

• sub idee 3.png
    sub idee 3.png
    155.8 KB · Views: 165
  • sub idee 3.1.png
    sub idee 3.1.png
    159.9 KB · Views: 169
  • sub idee 4.png
    sub idee 4.png
    155.6 KB · Views: 156
  • sub idee 5.1.png
    sub idee 5.1.png
    166.2 KB · Views: 166
  • sub idee 5.png
    sub idee 5.png
    156 KB · Views: 159

GM

Joined 2003
Ancient history from the earliest days of [mid]bass horns and still used today............. 2nd, 5th sketch is a folded compound loaded horn, though ideally the front chamber should be expanding otherwise its slot loaded and 3rd, 4th sketch is a folded compression horn [FLH].

GM

Hornresp can calculate these easily.

The more common form of these cabinets is W-bins, which IIRC will go stupid-loud from 70-150Hz when loaded with some 15"s. If you get a lot of them in a big pile, you might (might) make it to <60Hz. I'd expect yours to have similar performance.

It used to be the case that a 70Hz bottom end was plenty enough. These days, speciality systems can hit 25Hz at spectacular SPLs, though 35Hz is a more common target for larger PA systems, smaller ones settling at 50 or so.

Chris

what is your opinion about them?(these types of [mid]bass cabinet). Do you think I should try to sim them with HR? or the design will never go to 35hz? my goal is just to do a small cab that can hit high SPL at 30-35hz. maybe it's no lt possible! but I'll try! I will build them to test them if I found something interesting :)

GM

Joined 2003