12" TH for HT - Please Check my numbers!!! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st March 2014, 11:26 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 12" TH for HT - Please Check my numbers!!!

I've never built a TH before but I came across the design about 6 months ago and thought I would give it a try. This will be for home theater use only so I'm not concerned with anything >80Hz. After some reading and thanks to the diyaudio forums I think I have a workable design in Hornresp. The driver is an Emenince Eminator 2512 12". I don't have one of these yet nor do I have the $$ to drop on several speakers and learn after testing that it's not suitable, so I used the published specs which are here:
Speaker Detail | Eminence Speaker

After some playing around I've got a response with what appears to be respectable low extension with good spl. I noticed that at the rated power I'll be dangerously close to the Xmax limit if not exceeding it. And this thing is looooong. L23 is 4 meters. But, if I can fold it once, I may be able to squeeze it between the floor joists in the basement a pipe the the good vibrations into the living room.

I've modeled about 6 drivers in hornresp and this is the first one that I was able to get something that looked decent. But before I start making saw dust (or fire wood) I would greatly appreciate ANY feed back or recommendations, and PLEASE double check my numbers. I've attached some screen shots too.

Thanks!!!
Tim
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Input Variables.JPG (73.0 KB, 94 views)
File Type: jpg Displacement.JPG (52.2 KB, 92 views)
File Type: jpg Response.JPG (58.8 KB, 93 views)
File Type: jpg Schematic.JPG (50.2 KB, 94 views)
Old 21st March 2014, 11:31 PM   #2
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.

Quote: