**help with design & interference/diffraction - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th February 2014, 01:11 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default **help with design & interference/diffraction

I've been scouring the threads on this board as well as the internet and I'm having a hard time figuring out if my cabinet design is going to cause me interference or diffraction on the back end?

I'm a little new to this, so you'll have to excuse me if the answer is simple or easy to figure out/find.

Click the image to open in full size.

The black intersecting lines will be braces, but with large squares cut out to reduce internal ft^3, and keep it from being completely sectioned off...

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Old 20th February 2014, 03:28 AM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

It is a subwoofer, the wavelengths involved are so large they won't even see the outside of your cabinet.

With 2 woofers you really should take advantage of push-push loading, it will take a BIG load off the box.

dave
Old 20th February 2014, 05:30 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by planet10 View Post
It is a subwoofer, the wavelengths involved are so large they won't even see the outside of your cabinet.

With 2 woofers you really should take advantage of push-push loading, it will take a BIG load off the box.

dave
Thank you for your insight.

I had considered a push-push design briefly, but the cabinet is actually for someone else who wants the finished product to look like a pixar ladybug (the speakers will be the wide eyes). I'll post a CAD/3D mock up as soon as I'm finished with it.