**help with design & interference/diffraction

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been scouring the threads on this board as well as the internet and I'm having a hard time figuring out if my cabinet design is going to cause me interference or diffraction on the back end?

I'm a little new to this, so you'll have to excuse me if the answer is simple or easy to figure out/find.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The black intersecting lines will be braces, but with large squares cut out to reduce internal ft^3, and keep it from being completely sectioned off...

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

It is a subwoofer, the wavelengths involved are so large they won't even see the outside of your cabinet.

With 2 woofers you really should take advantage of push-push loading, it will take a BIG load off the box.

dave

Thank you for your insight.

I had considered a push-push design briefly, but the cabinet is actually for someone else who wants the finished product to look like a pixar ladybug (the speakers will be the wide eyes). I'll post a CAD/3D mock up as soon as I'm finished with it.

just to be thorough, you are saying that the spacing between each sound wave will keep it from having interference, so the alignment in this scenario isn't an issue? I assumed, because each speaker will be playing the same frequency so close to one another and angled, that it might cause some sort of cancelation...

Angle is not relevant, it's the path-length difference between each source and the listening point. At the worst case, that's the distance between the drivers.