Looking to build 2x18" enclosure - PPSL? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th September 2013, 07:14 PM   #1
MemX is offline MemX  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Question Looking to build 2x18" enclosure - PPSL? - *Now with build pics*

Hey all!

I am relatively new to the Audio world but have managed to set up a reasonable selection of AV toys at home to enjoy, which I am happy with so far

I currently have an SVS subwoofer that does not dig as deep as I would like it to (ported with 16Hz tune), whereas I would like to get into single-digit Hz playback, if at all possible.

I have therefore picked up some of the Stereo Integrity 18" HT drivers: Stereo Integrity | HT Subwoofers
and am currently attempting to design a box for them

I have been wanting to go Push-Pull (or Compound Push Push, if that's the correct terminology for one driver having the spider/magnet outside the box? ) because I have been reading up on its reduced harmonics (thank you to those who have taken the time to post up graphs illustraing the benefits on here!)

Can those who have a PPSL design comment on whether the Odd Order harmonics become much more noticeable when the Even Order harmonics are reduced/removed? And if that negatively impacts the listening experience?

With regards to my design, I started by putting one driver on the top and one on the bottom of my box, the top one facing up and the bottom one facing up but firing into the box, with supporting columns and a base plate at each end so I could stand them up safely and allow the drivers to actually move lol

However, due to space constraints, I decided to move the drivers into the middle of the box and have them firing into the same space, removing the need for the extra height of the base plates and associated columns.