Inexpensive (< $50 ) 12 inch Driver for 9.5 foot (2.89m) TL

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm wondering what would be a relatively inexpensive 12" driver to use in a 9.5' basically straight horn/TL? I'm just experimenting (playing :)) now, so I'm not interested in excellent but expensive. I've been using a cheap Goldwood GW212/4 that I have and I'd like to try something with different performance characteristics. The current driver is very high Qts (~1.15), low Xmax (~3.5mm), specs here: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=290-330. I'm also using a relatively low power amp, either an old yamaha or a lepai, as convenient which I assume means that anything with exceptionally low sensitivity just won't work well.

Thanks for the input, and, remember I'm a novice who is looking to learn and have fun, not achieve aural perfection. Oh, and looking around, it seems like $75.00 is a better cap than $50.00.

Last edited:
I was looking at that and the bravox PXW12D-4/2 since it is a PE buyout for almost the same money. Any input on which to pick?

PRODUCT SPECIFICATIONS Power Handling (RMS) 230 Watts Power Handling (max) 480 Watts Impedance 4+4 ohms Frequency Response 25 to 2,500 Hz Sensitivity 88.3 dB 2.83V/1m
THIELE-SMALL PARAMETERS Resonant Frequency (Fs) 26 Hz Voice Coil Inductance (Le) 0.88 mH Mechanical Q (Qms) 3.90 Electromagnetic Q (Qes) 0.47 Total Q (Qts) 0.42 Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas) 4.10 ft.³ Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax) 7.3 mm
MATERIALS OF CONSTRUCTION Cone Material Poly Composite Surround Material Santoprene® Voice Coil Former Kapton® / Polyimide Basket / Frame Material Steel
MOUNTING INFORMATION Overall Outside Diameter 12.125" Baffle Cutout Diameter 11.125" Depth 6"

Last edited:
I have four of the Bravox 15" versions from PE