Difference between Super Scoop and Folded Horn Subwoofers - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th March 2013, 09:40 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Arrow Difference between Super Scoop and Folded Horn Subwoofers

Hello Guys!

I am fairly new to the construction of PA equipment, i have done a lot of work with Car Audio builds.

I am going to be performing at a couple of outside parties (fields) this summer and i am looking at getting some bass bins for my gear! It seems to me the best way to go would be either folded horn or super scoop!

However, i havent a clue what design would be good for me?

I currently have 2x JBL JRX 115 which are great! but i will need more energy especially if im outside.

I plan on building two bins using 2 x 18" Pa Bass Drivers around 1000 watt RMS with 4" voice coils.

Can you guys help me please!!!!!!!!

Superscoop:
Click the image to open in full size.

Folded Horn:

PLEASE HELP!

Steve
-DubRoach Production
DubRoach Weekly HOME
Old 12th March 2013, 01:52 PM   #2
Xoc1 is offline Xoc1  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Your JBL JRX115 are fairly flat to 100Hz so there are many subs that will work.
The front loaded folded horn design you posted is not really suitable as it is designed to be used in a corner which tend to be in short supply outdoors. Front loaded horns tend to be used in multiples to produce high SPL levels - Think very big and loud.
The Scoop design can work and are certainly loud - They tend to have a big hole in the response about 80Hz so if you choose to build one take care that the frequency response will match your JBL mid tops
Speakerplans.com
A Scoop bin is closely related to a Tapped Horn. Tapped horns have a smoother response that would match you speakers better. Plenty of designs around here that would be suitable!