Submitted for your approval, Isobaric cab.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I was recently given 8 - 10" Bugera drivers with aluminum cones. Rated @ 240 watts each. I've never tried an Isobaric cabinet before. Designed and built lots of P.A. speakers and all have worked very well. Thought I'd put this design up and see if there were any opinions. 3/4" ply with 4-2" vents 18" long and insulation dampening. Some details left off plan for clarity.
Thank you for your consideration!

Attachments

• Isobaric 4x10 inch Large.jpg
    Isobaric 4x10 inch Large.jpg
    423 KB · Views: 243
I was recently given 8 - 10" Bugera drivers with aluminum cones. Rated @ 240 watts each. I've never tried an Isobaric cabinet before. Designed and built lots of P.A. speakers and all have worked very well. Thought I'd put this design up and see if there were any opinions. 3/4" ply with 4-2" vents 18" long and insulation dampening. Some details left off plan for clarity.
Thank you for your consideration!
If the drivers are not back vented, or the vents do not make noise, I would suggest mounting the drivers cone to cone, reversing the polarity of the drivers with the magnets out.
Simplifies construction, reduces even order harmonic distortion, and the reduced enclosed area makes the output sound "tighter".

Precicely. That's what I want to know. What do I gain from going isobaric. A friend told me about them. Then I got the free drivers and I'm always building something. Usaully bass bins. I could always use any of those types of bin. Bass cab or sub. Just experimenting really. Have got lots of power to try with them. Just thought I'd put the design out here first to get some feed back from people such as yourself. :eek:)

I can't say I see any reason to do isobaric.