This box doesn't make sense...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys. I'm not new to audio, but I've never built an enclosure before and I don't have a fantastic understanding of the impact of some T/s parameters on driver performance.

I've found some new/surplus Polk drivers that I'd like to use in a project, but the numbers that I'm getting out of WinISD seem a little off to me.

These are the only specs that I have for the subs:
  • 4 Ohm rated
  • 250wrms/400w peak
  • 2" voice coil
  • 91dB @ 1w/1M
  • 20Hz-1500Hz rated
  • FS - 23.8926 Hz.
  • Revc - 3.2038
  • Zmax - 21.2296 ohms
  • Qes - 0.5382
  • Qms - 3.0342
  • Qts - 0.4571
  • Le - 2.0306 mH (at 1 kHz)
  • Vas - 176.2302 L

WinISD is showing that 4 of them in a 25ft^3 enclosure tuned to 25Hz should perform very well.

Supposedly, that should net a f3 around 24Hz and a maximum SPL of around 130dB at 38Hz-ish with 1600w input power. But 6.25ft^3 (per woofer) seems really, really large for 12" woofers and I'm worried that there's something that WinISD isn't accounting for. Their simulated performance in a much smaller enclosure (say 2.5ft^2 per sub) is very poor, though; much worse than I would expect out of a sub with a Fs of 23Hz-and left to its own devices, WinISD auto-calculates a ported enclosure volume of almost 10ft^3 for one driver.

So I'm very confused. I plugged in some rough guesstimates for the missing parameters (xmax, Sd, BL) and the results didn't change much. It just seems like too much box volume for a bunch of 12" woofers. Can someone help me understand this? :confused:

Driver Properties
Name: Polk 12
Type: Standard one-way driver
No. of Drivers = 1
Fs = 23.9 Hz
Qms = 3.034
Vas = 176.2 liters
Cms = 0.442 mm/N
Mms = 100.4 g
Rms = 4.968 kg/s
Xmax = 8 mm
Xmech = 12 mm
P-Dia = 259.8 mm
Sd = 530 sq.cm
P-Vd = 0.424 liters
Qes = 0.538
Re = 3.204 ohms
Le = 2 mH
Z = 3.845 ohms
BL = 9.473 Tm
Pe = 250 watts