MTH30 Questions : Complete Noob!

Hi All,

I'm not at all new to electronics DIY and I have some experience with very basic woodworking and access to appropriate tools. That said, the last time I tried to build a speaker cabinet it was in the 9th grade with mitered joints and cleats and, well, let's just say that I didn't get very far.

Ok, that out of the way, being all grown up (outside) and motivated, I've decided that the MTH30 seems like it will be a good companion to my alto TS110s and I want to shake this fear of cabinet building as I have some other projects where ultra-budget is essential.

So, if you guys don't mind, I have some really basic noob questions.

1) I see that the MTH30 calls for MDF. I would rather use plywood for weight, is this a good idea? If so, does it require changing the plan in any substantial way? Any experiences with plywood vs mdf would be helpful here. I don't care about the additional cost if it makes the cabinet lighter.

2) Are the cabinets glued and screwed, or just glued, I can't tell from photos online. They appear to be just glued.

3) From the pictures that I've seen, I'm not seeing anyone line the cabinets with the acoustic dampening material that was found in virtually every speaker made when I was a kid. Do you not need/want this in these type of cabinets? Don't laugh, I really don't know the answer.