How's This Design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a total novice, so please do not injure youself falling on the floor with laughter... :rolleyes:

I am, obviously not looking for audiophile perfection, just something that sounds nice at low to moderate volumes for everything from Italian Opera to Sunn O))) and whatever TV and movies happen to get played. I did not include a cross since I was going to play with different butterworth frequencies digitally to see what sounded good. Since it is an open box, I figured that 1/2" MDF would be sufficient, though experience would be welcome.

Thanks!

For those who cannot see links, I've attached the PDF below. [Note that the links have been tested with Chrome and Firefox on Linux. IE will probably cause problems.]

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

there is a PDF version here: https://www.justinzane.com/static/misc/sub.pdf

Last edited:
No luck on your picture, so I don't know exactly what you have in mind, but guessing from your text:

Open box is not a viable approach unless you have an old 24 inch Heartely and the box is about 10 feet square. ( This becomes an IB. Not something for a first time build )

The box and the driver have to work as a system. You have a quite reasonable goal. There are many many well published designs that are great for a newbie project. I recommend you start there. One of my all time favorites is the Linkwitz sub. I prefer low Q sealed subs. Others like the extra boom from a ported enclosure. In any case, you need a full cabinet as it works with the driver to be a , ready.... hold on..... loudspeaker system.