can you spice up a cheap sub ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
i am wondering if changing the driver on these
will improve the response
Nady PSW15 600W 15" Subwoofer | Musician's Friend
i know that at that price the wood and the driver must be crappy
but right now i cant afford high end cabinets
i was looking at some
EAW: SB150z
but the cost like 1200 each... :(

or something of these guys
http://www.community.chester.pa.us/...f?phpMyAdmin=c9cc5b3953d87385dc22218d669e7aab

but the cost is prohibitive for me

is there some plans to build something similar with a 15" or a 12"
i need a simple sub that you can carry easily and since i carry it on my car
an 18" cab is out of the question
i was looking at the behringer one but they only make 18" 's
i need a 15

Now , what is better a single 15 or a dual 12, sorry for the newbie questions
but i am new to speaker cabs
and i want to maybe build a simple cab for myself
or get a nady and spice it up a bit

Thanks
Max.

Exotic high end cabinets are nothing more than thicker plywood. Subs are easy, cabinets cheap. Cheap subs have cheap drivers and cheap amps to go along with their cheap box. You can DIY a really, really good sub for under $500. Not sure spending any money improving a really cheap sub is as good as setting that money aside to save up and build a good one.

Depending on the cone material, there is room to play. If it is untreated paper, you can dope the cone to damp breakup modes to make it cleaner, then remeasure the T/S parameters and re-size the box and tuning. You may get a few Hz out of it at the cost of a larger box and a tad less efficiency. You also may make a mess. DIY always has that risk :)

My all time best sub is a Peerless XXLS 12 inch in a 60L box, sealed. In room with a solid floor it gives just the right bottom end for music. No eq. What they do is lower distortion than about anything else.