A question about Tapped horns - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th August 2012, 11:06 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default A question about Tapped horns

I'm asking because I am still learning how to use the sim program and I can't seem to find the easy answer by searching.
How do you get the broadest possible bandwidth in the response??
How does the shape of the horn exit effect the response??

I once built an experimental shelf ported woofer where the rear of the port was angled at 45 degrees to see what the box sounded like ( I could not hear any difference ) and was wondering what effect an angled exit would have on the tapped horn if any

If I build a pair they would be used with my planned big OB project and only for the octaves below 80Hz

Second part of the question here, is there a cheap measuring microphone for these low octaves? All of my microphones (Tandy for voice ) have huge distortions
Old 16th August 2012, 11:55 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Allot of it is dependent on the driver itself. Once you have an idea what you want to accomplish you search and sim many many times to find a driver that will do as close to what you want as possible

And I pulled this from another thread Cross Spectrum Labs they sell calibrated inexpensive mics
Old 16th August 2012, 11:59 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I think (given the cost of postage) that the Behringer from a local shop is as cheap as I will get; $75AUD each, cheapest I have found. Being semi-poverty stricken i will be using an old car subwoofer I have in the shed ; Pair of older MTX Road Thunders 15 inch, talked about these in my bass box enquiry
Old 17th August 2012, 12:14 AM   #4
erin is offline erin  Australia
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moondog55 View Post