eastech sub build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
just got 4 separate eastech 9" subwoofers and am getting into audio. Have never built anything before but want to get these puppies pumpin. Was thinking of two basic sealed boxes. Is it too much to put all 4 in one box? Is BB plywood the material to use? How thick? I guess I need the amp/crossover controls. Where should I get the parts from? Any suggestions on what gear? I don't want to spend too much on the amp/controls as it's my first project but I also don't want to put in junk. How many watts should I be looking at for each box, round 100 to 300? And most importantly where can I find plans so I know what measurements to cut out? Pretty overwhelming to be honest but I'm sure once I get going I'll be fine.

Cheers~

Hi,

I'll try and go right to the basics here, but forgive me if I cover some stuff you already know.
All loudspeaker drivers have a series of numbers associated with them called Thiele Small parameters. These parameters allow us to simulate a given loudspeaker in any cabinet. There's plenty of free software about to do this - I'd recommend WinISD Pro.

At this point, you don't need to understand exactly what each of the parameters mean, but it'd be useful to have the parameters of your drivers. Emailing the manufacturer would be your best bet. If that fails, perhaps there's someone nearby that can measure them for you. You could also post pictures of the drivers, to see if anyone recognises them - they might be a buyout from another manufacturer.

When it comes to subwoofers, heavier enclosures (ie, thick material, include bracing - see first picture) are best, as they have more inertia. This will help to prevent the cabinet vibrating along, which would lose some (though not much) LF energy.
18mm (or 25mm) BB ply is the right material to use, but it's also expensive. Measure twice, cut once.