Newbie Amp & Enclosure Advice Needed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

This is my first post here. I'am a complete novice when it comes to what I'am learning is the 'science' of audio reproduction.

Has any one had any experience with a subwoofer plate amp from KLH Audio, model #119117? This amp comes with the KLH 10 inch ASW 10-120 subwoofer. It has 120 watt output, manufactured by Dong Guan Wei Phon Electronic Co. in China. I can find no specs on the web regarding this amp.

I have just acquired a Shiva Mk III from Adire Audio. I want to build a down firing Sealed box for this driver. As it has dual voice coils, I would like to wire it in parallel as such, and drive it at a nominal 4 ohms. I don't know if this amp can handle that type of load.

Is there a way of testing the amp with meters or anything that would tell me? If I try it wired in parallel, and the amp can't handle it, do I lose the amp only, or worse, both the amp and the driver?

I'am leaning towards a sealed box low Q alignment of .5 as I appreciate musical fidelity, a little more than DVD effects such as the depth charge scene in U 571. Although I may be looking too low here. Any thoughts or cautions would be greatly appreciated.

This is my first attempt at building a box, or any of this, and definately could use all the advice I can get. Should I care about golden ratio aspects in a subwoofer enclosure or not?

I'am using a Denon AVR 2700, with Polk RTi 35 mains, Polk center, with Polk R10 surrounds.

It will be a bit before I can afford to upgrade the plate amp, and was hoping to hear the box and driver first.

Thanks in advance for any advice or experiences you can share.

Regards,